Northwest High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area

What is HIDTA?

The High Intensity Drug Trafficking Areas (HIDTA) program, created by Congress in the Anti-Drug Abuse Act of 1988, provides assistance to Federal, state, local, and tribal law enforcement agencies located in areas determined to be critical drug-trafficking regions of the U.S. The purpose of the HIDTA program is to reduce drug trafficking and production in the U.S. by facilitating cooperation across law enforcement agencies, enhancing law enforcement intelligence sharing, and supporting coordinated strategies which maximize use of available resources to reduce the supply of, and demand for, illegal drugs The HIDTA program is sponsored by the Office for National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP).

Learn more about the national HIDTA program (ONDCP website)

Map of NW HIDTA's 14 counties
  Current NW HIDTA Counties

Northwest HIDTA

The mission of the Northwest HIDTA is to measurably reduce drug trafficking, money laundering, and drug-related violent crimes, as well as to reduce demand by supporting treatment and other effective demand reduction programs. Designated in 1997, the NW HIDTA covers 14 counties in Washington State: Benton, Clark, Cowlitz, Franklin, King, Kitsap, Lewis Pierce, Skagit, Snohomish, Spokane, Thurston, Whatcom, and Yakima.

Our region's primary drug threats include heroin and prescription opioids, methamphetamine, marijuana, and cocaine. Our initiatives stress the enhancement, partnership, and co-location of multi-jurisdictional task forces in critical locations within the HIDTA service area, by providing investigative support and intelligence information services to various task forces around the state. The NW HIDTA support initiatives include those efforts promoting drug education, drug courts, and building community coalitions with HIDTA funds.